Personal

Tips and Tricks for Self-Care

This has been one of the most stressful times of my life, so far. Preparing for the LSAT, taking the LSAT, researching law schools, writing personal and diversity statements, and waiting for letters of acceptance can really take a toll on you. Doing all of this while taking a full course load and/or working can be a lot to handle at times, it is important to take some time for yourself whenever you need it!

During the past several months, I have incorporated the following self-care tips and tricks into my daily/weekly routines. I believe it is so important to take time out of your busy schedule and stressful life to take care of yourself

10 Helpful Self-Care Strategies

  1. Binge watch your favorite Netflix show (Hulu or whatever you prefer) – This is one of my favorite things to do. During the school year, I have less time to just sit and watch my favorite shows, so I like to make time to do that every once in a while.
  2. Go for a nature walk – Sometimes you need to take a break and go outside to get some fresh air. Luckily, my university has many beautiful outdoor trails and parks near it, so I like to try someplace new when I can. If you’re not big on nature, you can always just take a stroll around the neighborhood to clear your mind for a little.
  3. Take a short nap – I’ll be the first to admit, I definitely do not get as much sleep as I should during the school year. Those late nights in the library (and sometimes just staying up too late hanging out with my roommates) leave me quite tired. Especially when life gets particularly stressful, a small nap allows me to step away from school work and studying for a bit. When I wake up, I feel more refreshed and can refocus my mind on the tasks of the day.
  4. Treat yourself! – If you are a fan of Parks and Rec like me, you can relate to this tip. Treating yourself every now and then to something that you really want is so important. I’m still in undergrad so obviously I don’t treat myself to anything too expensive every month but I do like to buy myself something little every now and then to reward my hard work. You’ve worked hard, you deserve a treat!
  5. Make your bed everyday (or at least try to) – Sorry, Mom. In college, I got into the habit of not making my bed everyday because I told myself I was cutting down time in my morning routine and that it wasn’t really a necessity. However, recently, I began to make my bed more often. This small thing has really made a difference because when I come home from a stressful day, my room automatically seems more put-together and clean. Whenever my room is not tidy, I feel as though my stress levels are heightened.
  6. Try something new every week – Each week I try to do at least one new thing. Some examples: trying a new food, making a new recipe, going to a new restaurant or store, trying a new machine at the gym or a different fitness class, watching something you haven’t seen on Netflix, etc. This helps to keep things interesting and mix it up a tad from week to week.
  7. Sit down with a good book – Yes, I do read a lot for school but clearly that does not compare to reading a book for pleasure. It’s so comforting to take time out of your schedule and read a book of your choice.
  8. Listen to your favorite tunes – Spotify is life, Spotify is love. Each month I make a new Spotify playlist with my favorite jams of the month. While studying, I prefer songs without words but I always make time to listen to my favorite songs during the day.
  9. Ditch technology for a while – Every once in a while I like to turn off my phone for a while and do something without it. Whether that be reading a book, watching tv, going for a run, you get the idea. Really focus on the moment for a little.
  10. Do something you love to do – Nothing is more relaxing than just doing something you enjoy! So take time out of your schedule and pencil in time for something fun!
Leave a Reply

