Personal · Travel

Carry-on Bag Essentials

FullSizeRender

Traveling is something that I have always loved doing! As I prepare for an upcoming trip to San Francisco, I wanted to share some of my carry-on bag essentials for the airport. I try not to overpack because that just results in not being able to find anything that you are looking for and having more stuff to lug around that airport.

  1. Toiletries – This one is pretty self-explanatory. You know what you need for your trip!
  2. Jewelry – I try to put any jewelry that I will need in a separate little bag so that it keeps everything nice and orderly.
  3. Headphones – Yay for wi-fi on planes nowadays because I can listen to Spotify without having to save every playlist that I potentially will want to listen to to my phone. These are also useful when you are waiting for the flight and any downtime during the trip.
  4. A book – Recently, I’ve been really enjoying reading so I obviously have to bring a book with me since I will be gone for a week.
  5. Portable charger – I love this so much! While traveling you often spend a lot of time away from your hotel/anywhere with an outlet so I highly recommend bringing a portable charger so you never have to go without having your phone charged. I purchased this one from Bed Bath & Beyond about three years ago, but I was able to find the exact one here! It’s worked well for me in the past, but if you need one that can charge multiple phones/gadgets at a time, this one is not the one for you.
  6. Sunglasses – I am notorious for losing/stepping on/breaking sunglasses so I like to bring at least two options…just in case.
  7. Combs and brushes – You never know when you’ll need to fix your hair. Especially after sleeping on the plane!
  8. Notepad and pens/pencils – I like to have something handy to jot down notes, directions, restaurants, blog ideas, etc.
  9. Reusable water bottle – I cannot stress this one enough. Why waste money and resources on plastic water bottles when you can just bring one from home and refill it. At every airport I have been to there are water fountains stationed throughout, so it is no trouble at all to fill up your bottle/bottles. Also, this is useful while on your trip and save you from buying drinks at least some of the time. The water bottle featured here is a Mira Stainless Steel Insulated Water Bottle that keeps drinks cold for 24 hours and hot for 12. Honestly, I was skeptical about this at first but it really does work! It’s similar to the Swell Water Bottles that you might have seen.
  10. Wallet – For obvious reasons. I also stick whatever purse I will be using during the trip down in this bag too.
  11. Phone Charger – Again, another obvious thing to include here.
  12. SNACKS – I love to snack! I try to pack a few snacks to munch on in the airport or on the plane.

That’s it folks! Those are my main carry-on essentials that work for pretty much every trip. If I don’t wear a jacket to the airport, I will stick it in the carry-on bag. Also, depending on what shoes I wear to the airport, I will bring a change of shoes and stick them in the carry-on bag as well.

Leave a Reply

